Skip to content

The Best of Boracay

June 15, 2012

I’ve been meaning to write this entry for a long while now – for almost a year, actually! It was August of last year when I decided to have a 7-day vacation and explore all of the best things that Boracay has to offer. Even though some of those things were largely influenced by my previous trip to Boracay, I’m happy to state that me and my friends have discovered a whole lot of things that have soon been dubbed as classics. So, let me share it with you!

  • Best Margaritas

The best frozen margaritas, as I’ve said before, can be found at Two Seasons. I don’t know why, but it’s perfect for me. I love how it doesn’t taste too alcoholic, and it’s not too sour. it’s a bit sweet, but not too sweet. It tastes perfect with or without salt. At P225, you can get it at 2 for 1 during happy hour. You can view my other entries on Two Seasons here and here.

Two Seasons
Beachfront, Station 1
White Beach, Boracay
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
  • Best Pizza

Even though there’s Aria, I would still take Two Seasons’ Pizza Vegetalie any day. Put on some tabasco and it’s heaven, I tell you! I’m usually a fan of pizzas with lots of toppings, but I found this perfect. The cheese is really gooey, which is just the way I like it. The tomatoes aren’t too sour, either. Priced at P320, you’d think it’s a bit steep for an 8-slicer but with a taste like that, I’d pay that much. You can view my other entries on Two Seasons here and here.

Two Seasons
Beachfront, Station 1
White Beach, Boracay
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
  • Best Isaw

Taken by Stephanie Chan

We discovered this last August 2011, in front of Royal Park Hotel. You see, there’s this open area filled with street food there and we just couldn’t resist trying it out. Best decision ever! Not only will I dub this isaw as the best in Boracay, I think it counts for the best I’ve ever tasted! By the way, isaw is grilled chicken intestine. It’s fully cleaned since there’s no bitter taste, which I love, and there’s something magical with the sauce. It’s perfect. At P10 per stick, you can find it in front of Royal Park Hotel in Station 2, just beside Astoria.

  • Best Mojitos

The best mojitos, as far as I can say, is in Epic. There’s perfection in the balance of sweetness and sourness, as well as the freshness in this drink. It’s a bit strong, but you’ll manage. I haven’t gone past 2 glasses, since I’ve been traumatized by the extreme headache it caused before. Still, it’s worth a try because you’re at the beach and apart from beer, mojitos and margaritas are my next bet. At P180 per glass, you can get it at 2 for 1 during happy hour. You can view my other entry on Epic here.

Epic
D’Mall, Station 2
White Beach, Boracay
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
  • Best Dessert

Taken by Stephanie Chan

Yes, it’s all worth the buzz. Imagine that instead of keychains with white sand, t-shirts with “I Love Boracay” and other souvenirs, I got this as a pasalubong. As I’ve said before, I’m not really a fan of sweets, of chocolates or of desserts but the Mati Chocolate Sin changed all that. This, by far, is the best dessert in the island, and probably the best rendition of a normal chocolate lava ala mode in the country. The hot chocolate mixes well with the cold vanilla ice cream. The chocolate isn’t too sweet, which I hate, but maintains a perfect chocolate-y texture. I’m on my toes trying to describe it, while salivating, so excuse me and just try this out for yourselves. At P250, you will never regret this, I swear. Look for it at Zuzuni, which I’ve also written about here.

Zuzuni
Beachfront, Station 2
White Beach, Boracay
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
  • Best Tomato Soup

It might be weird to have this category, but I’m a big fan of tomato soups and I think it’s the perfect cure for a stomachache, or a hangover. My best was Yellowcab’s, but this one from Epic is slowly rising to the charts. I’ve tasted a number of tomato soups in Boracay, including Zuzuni, Yellowcab and Red Coconut. Epic had me with the perfect combination of sweet and sour in the tomatoes, plus a hint of pesto and cream. It’s priced at P160, and the serving is quite huge. You can view my other entry on Epic here.

Epic
D’Mall, Station 2
White Beach, Boracay
Malay, Aklan, Philippines
  • Best Muffins

Taken by Stephanie Chan

Real Coffee & Tea is known for their muffins, and for maintaining the old Boracay vibe. Because of the many raves I’ve heard about this, it was also one thing I’ve got to try at least once. Even though I was never awake for breakfast, we had to put this in our itinerary before we left. Sure enough, the calamansi muffins were not a disappointment, but I rather fell in love with their banana walnut muffins. Both at P45 each, it’s like heaven in a bite. It’s quite difficult to spot Real Coffee because it’s tucked in a back alley in Station 2. You’ll see a small sign near a sari-sari store pointing to an alley, but you really have to look hard because it’s sandwiched between lots of signs like “Rooms for rent” and “Water sports here”. One clue, though, is that this alley is near Astoria. Don’t get frustrated though, because the hunt always makes you feel like you discovered this lovely place all on your own.

  • Best Pancakes
The best pancakes are in Red Coconut. It’s not in some fancy hotel buffet or a restaurant specializing in breakfasts. It was a good thing that we discovered it, because T had it for lunch on our first trip to Boracay. The creamy, buttery taste is amazing! Add to that the soft and fluffy texture and it’d feel like you’re floating on a cloud. It costs P105, and it’s available the whole day – even for dinner!

The list could go on. Actually, these are the things that stuck out most to me. I make sure that I never visit Boracay without having tried these again. These things are what makes Boracay special to me, and with every trip I make, I’m excited as hell to try all of it again. These are musts, people, so please do not visit Boracay without having tried any or all of it! Hahaha.

What are your Boracay favorites?

XOXO

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2012 1:22 PM

    Take me to Boracay, Gel. Bring me to all the “it” places. haha :D Great post!! :D

  2. June 15, 2012 6:45 PM

    Hahaha thanks! :) Sure, sure! Let’s go!

  3. Anon permalink
    June 21, 2012 12:24 PM

    Hi! This is random but i heard from a friend that you worked at Clientcomm? Writing consultant? I was planning to apply but i just want to get the general idea about the job. Plus (if you dont mind) the pay and if there are incentives. It’ll be a great help so I can weigh my option if i should go or not. Please reply as a comment :)

    Great blog, by the way! I’ve been backreading it since last night. Keep it up! :)

  4. June 21, 2012 4:08 PM

    Hi, can you contact me through email? It’s angela.barrientos@clientcomm.net :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

